top of page

Mexico City

Wow, I had this city all wrong in my mind. 

Exciting  vibrant colors, palm trees, enticing street food on every corner, and LOTS of people are all things you would expect from Mexico City. What I wasn't picturing was cobble stone streets, grand plazas, and architecturally beautiful buildings in every direction you look. 

As soon as I got here, I was welcomed by a sweet older man working in an airport taxi who communicated with me with google translate, encouraging me to have a wonderful time in his city. He was surprised I was travelling on my own, and especially at my age, but he said that with common sense I would stay safe and learn to love it here just as he did. 

My flashbacks of feelings of middle school basketball quickly vanished.

I arrived at my funky hostel in the historic center and instantly bonded with my roommates, especially a fellow Canadian, Taylor, who I spent the next 3 days with. 

We are two in the same and I was so happy to have met her, even if the time was too short! 

We wandered endlessly around the city, clocking an average of 20 km a day- needless to say we deserved our daily tacos 😊. We visited the Frida Khalo museum in a sleep-deprived fog but enjoyed it nonetheless. We explored the back roads and took in the street art found in the Cayoacan neighborhood. We ate a yummy meal together at a stall in an upscale market. And of course, we took some ridiculous photos! 

Thanks so much ya babe, I wouldn't have laughed, explored, or eaten nearly as well without you in the city!

I've also made some other wonderful friends from the first hostel! Matt, Andrew, and Abe are also responsible for making the first couple days so much fun. 

We went to a Mexican wrestling match- Lucha Libre, and played the classic hostel drinking games before going to a dance bar where we all let loose and danced the night away. I did atleast- my partner had been taking lessons so I was kept busy on my feet until we closed the bar down, then for another two hours on the street of downtown Mexico. That's a pretty fun excuse for a hangover I think.

It's safe to say the first stop of my month in Mexico was a great choice. It's always nice to be surprised by how great the cities of the world can be. I hope I get to experience this feeling for the rest of my wanderlust-filled life.

-안녕 

Sasha

bottom of page